Bizenjo becomes Chief Minister of Baluchistan

Mir Abdul Quddus Bizenjo of PML-Q elected new Chief Minister of Baluchistan after securing 41 votes from the provincial assembly. His opponent Agha Liaqat of Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party got 13 voters. National Party (NP) did not participated in election and prefers to stay away from the proceedings.  Former chief minister Nawab Sanaullah Zehri resigned from the office after opposition threatened to de-seat him through a no-trust motion. PML-N members rebelled against their chief minister and joined hand with opposition parties to oust him. PML-N was the largest party in the assembly but 15 out of 22 members rebelled and refused to meet even Prime Minister. 

PML-Q has just 5 members of provincial assembly in Baluchistan but still managed to elect its chief minister in the house of 65 members. Mir Quddus Bizenjo just got 541 votes in the general elections from PB-41 Awaran constituency, which is the lowest winning vote of a parliamentarian ever elected. 

Another member of the Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party, Abdul Rahim Khan Ziaratawal withdrew from the race in favour of fellow member and candidate Syed Agha Liaqat Ali.

           N&A news report

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.