PML-N won Chakwal by election with huge margin

PML-N won the Chakwal by elections with a big margin. PML-N defeated PTI quite comfortably in PP-20 by elections.   According to unofficial results from all 227 polling stations, PML-N's Chaudhry Sultan Haider Ali secured 75,655 votes; while Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) candidate Raja Tariq Mehmood Afzal bagged 45,702 votes. The PML-N candidate beat the PTI contestant by a margin of 29,953 votes. Chaudhry Nasir Abbas of the Tehreek-Labaik Ya Rasool Allah stood third, with 16,112 votes.

The provincial assembly seat fell vacant after the death of PML-N MPA Chaudhry Liaqat Ali Khan. Ch. Liaqat won seven elections since 1985 from this constituency which consists of Chakwal city and some villages. The experts were expecting a tough fight between PTI and PML-N but election proved one sided. PML-N maintained its huge margin and popular support in the constituency.  The winning candidate is the son of late Ch. Liaqat.

The PTI, the archrival of the ruling party in Chakwal, had managed to secure the support of PPP and the Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) and was expected to give the ruling party a tough competition in today's by-poll. But it did not happen.

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.