Membership of 318 legislatures suspended by ECP

Membership of 318 legislatures suspended by ECP

The membership of 318 national and provincial legislatures has been suspended by The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) for not providing relevant details under the electoral laws. According to the ECP- these members cannot attend assembly session and take part in legislation.  The ECP has informed the assembly secretaries and concerned authorities about this suspension.

Among those suspended are, Federal Minister for Science and Technology Fawad Chaudhry, Religious Affairs Minister Pir Noorul Haq Qadri, Sadaqat Abbasi, Aamir Kiyani, Sanaullah Masti Khel, Farrukh Habib, Raja Riaz, Tariq Bashir Cheema, Aamir Liaquat Hussain, Alamgir Khan, Abdul Qadir Patel, Burgess Tahir and Raja Pervaiz Ashraf.

The list includes the names from almost all the parties representing in the national or provincial assemblies and senate.

According to the ECP, 70 members of the National Assembly and 12 members of the Senate have been suspended whereas, 115 members from Punjab Assembly, 40 members of Sindh Assembly, 60 members of K-P Assembly and 21 members of the Balochistan Assembly have been suspended.

Every year ECP has to take action against those legislatures who failed to submit asset details to ECP under the law. Now they will start submitting their asset declaration to lift the suspension. It has become a routine for the legislatures to miss the deadline to submit the annual declaration.

                                            Rukhsana Manzoor


No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.