Karachi Kings defeated Lahore Qalandars in PSL final to clinch the title

 Babar Azam and young bowlers helped  karachi Kings to lift the PSL trophy for the first time

Karachi Kings beat Lahore Qalandars to lift the first trophy of Pakistan Super League in National stadium Karachi on Tuesday.  The Lahore Qalandars made the wrong decision to bat first after winning the toss on a slow pitch. The young fast bowlers of Karachi Kings restricted the lahore Qalandars to just 134 runs.  

Karachi Kings have become the new champions after defeating Lahore Qalandars by five wickets in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2020 final at the National Stadium. Babar Azam was the batting hero for Karachi kings who scored hard fought 63 runs to guide Karachi to victory. 

There is no doubt that Babar Azam played key innings of 63 runs but the victory was actually built on the hard work done by Karachi's unheralded, uncapped and unknown medium-pacers Umaid Asif, Waqas Maqsood and Arshad Iqbal. 

The trio laid the foundation over which Babar later capitalised and got his side the victory in a comfortable run chase.Umaid, Waqas and Arshad combined to bowl 12 over for Karachi, gave away just 62 runs and picked up six wickets - two apiece.

Neither has ever played at the highest level but still proved more than a match for Lahore's studded, in-form batting line-up that threw away a solid start.

From 68-0, they managed a meek 134-7 as the openers' slow batting put pressure on the rest of the batters, who, in their attempt to up the scoring rate, kept losing wickets. The proverbial fireworks kept on getting postponed and in the end, never came.

In their defence, Lahore batsmen can claim that the wicket was 'double-paced', which it was as the ball did not come on to the bat all innings - even for those known for their clean hitting. 

In response, Karachi always looked in control until a late flurry of wickets but Babar Azam's presence got them through.

                                                         Web Desk

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.