Congress- DMK alliance likely to win Tamil Nadu Assembly elections 2021

It will be first elections without arch rivals Karunanidhi and Jayalalitha in decades

 The United Progressive Alliance (UPA) led by Congress-DMK is likely to win the majority in Tamil Nadu Assembly elections scheduled to be held on April 06. The results will be announced on May 02. This was revealed in the latest Times Now- C Voter opinion poll.
It will be the first election without the presence of two most powerful political figures in the Tamil Nadu politics Karunanidhi of DMK and Jayalalitha of AIADMK. They both died since the last assembly elections in 2016. 

UPA is expecting to win 158 seats an increase of 60 seats while AIADMK-BJP alliance could bag 65 seats. In 2016 assembly elections, DMK won 89 seats while Congress won 08 seats. AIADMK emerged as the largest party with 134 seats. BJP failed to won a single assembly seat. This time it might be able to open its account. The total tally of seats might be different in the final results on May 02, but Congress- DMK alliance will emerge as the leading alliance in the assembly. 

As per the opinion poll, DMK president MK Stalin is the most favoured candidate for the post of chief minister in Tamil Nadu. 38.4% people in the survey voted for MK Stalin, while 31% voted for the current chief minister EK Palaniswami. 7.4% voted for Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) chief Kamal Haasan, whereas 4.3% voted for Rajinikanth who has decided to not enter politics.

The famous indian actor Kamal Haasan is trying his luck in the politics for the first time. He has formed his own party called Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM). While another superstar of Indian film industry Rajinikanth decided not to contest elections this time. Rajinikanth also formed his own party and was keen to contest the elections.   

The UPA alliance consists of two major political parties Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and Congress, while several smaller parties are also part of alliance. The alliance includes  Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK),Communist party of India CPI, Communist Party of India -Marxist (CPI -M), Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK), Indian Union Muslim League(IUML), Manithaneya Makkal Katchi (MMK), and a few other smaller parties.  

Meanwhile, the UPA has almost sealed their seat-sharing agreement. Congress will contest in 25 Assembly seats. VCK, CPI, CPI (M), MDMK have received six each. IUML has received three seats, and Manithaneya Makkal Katchi (MMK) has been provided two seats.

On the other hand, the AIADMK has allotted 20 Assembly constituencies to the BJP and 23 seats to the Pattalli Makkal Katchi (PMK).

Tamil Nadu Assembly elections will be held in a single phase on April 6 and the counting of votes will be done on May 2, announced the Election Commission of India (ECI). Polls will be held for 234 seats in Tamil Nadu with the Congress-DMK and BJP-AIADMK alliance being the major groups contesting against each other.

                                                   Khalid Bhatti     


No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.