Ashes series 2021-22- Another humiliating defeat for England

Australia won the Ashes 2021-22 after defeating England in the third test match to take 3-0 lead


England- 185 & 68

Australia- 267 (won by an innings and 14 runs)

 Scot Boland Australia- player of the match

Australia handed England another humiliating defeat in the Boxing Day third test match at MCG Melbourne. Australia defeated England by an innings and 14 runs. Debutant Australian fast bowler Scot Boland destroyed the English batting line up in the second innings with figures of 6 wickets for just 7 runs (6 /7).

Boland, only the second Indigenous Australian to play a men's Test match celebrated his debut with man of the match award.  England bowled out for just 68 runs in the 2nd innings. "I thought we had a pretty good chance of winning but I had no idea we would do it before lunch," said 32-year-old Boland, who won the Johnny Mullagh medal as the player of the match.

Australia retained the Ashes as it takes 3-0 decisive lead over England in the 5 match Ashes test series. With Australia having won by 275 runs in Adelaide and nine wickets in the Brisbane opener, home captain Pat Cummins was left pinching himself as Boland and Mitchell Starc (3-29) wrapped up the series within 90 minutes on a glorious morning in Melbourne.

England captain Joe Root was left devastated. He has now lost seven of eight Tests as captain in Australia after failing to wrest back the urn on home soil in 2019.

Skittled for 185 in the first innings, England had resumed on 31 for four in their second on Tuesday, needing another 51 runs to make Australia bat again.

Their faint hopes were pinned on Root and Ben Stokes building a partnership after another calamitous collapse late on day two. But Boland and Starc ended England resistance and dashed their hopes.   

They will head into the final matches of the series hopeful of sweeping the Ashes for the first time since 2013/14.

                                                               Sports desk

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.