4th Ashes test between England and Australia ended in thrilling draw

 England batsmen denied Australia its fourth straight win in the Ashes series as they spend fifth day on the Sydney pitch to safe the match

                                                                        Match summary

                                     Australia     416/8declred & 265/6declared

                                               England       294 & 270/9 

                                                            Match drawn

                                                          Player of the match

                                         Usman Khawaja-Australia (137&101)    

The fourth Ashes test match between Australia and England has ended in dramatic draw. Test cricket was at its best at the Sydney cricket ground on fifth day. Both England and Australia played intense test cricket. Australia needed 10 wickets to won the test match and England needed 388 runs to win its first test match.

Australia needed just one wicket in last few overs of the match but last English pair of Broad and Johnson refuses Australia their fourth straight win. Usman Khawaja was the real hero for Australia who scored centuries in both innings in his comeback test match.

Usman Khawaja scored 137 runs in Australia’s total of 416/8 declared. Steve Smith scored 67 runs. Stuart Broad took five wickets for 101 runs in the first innings. Jonny Bairstow scored 113 in England’s first innings total of 294 runs. Ben Stokes scored 66 runs. Scot Boland took 4 for 36 and Pat Cummins 2 for 65. Australia took 122 runs lead in the first innings.

Australia again declared its innings at 265 for 6 in which Usman Khawaja scored 2nd century in the test match. English spinner Jack Leach took 4 for 84.

Zak Crawley scored quick fired 77 and Ben Stokes 60 in England’s second innings and played important role to draw the test match. Scot Boland took 3 for 30 and Nathan Lyon 2 for 28.  

                                                                        Sports Desk

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.