Karachi Kings defeated Lahore Qalandars by 22 runs to finally taste victory in PSL-7

 Lahore Qalandars failed to chase 159 runs target and could only score 127 runs for the loss of 9 wickets

Karachi Kings defeated Lahore Qalandars by 22 runs to taste their first win in PSL-7. Lahore Qalandars failed to chase down the 150 runs target after restricting Karachi Kings at 149. This was Karachi Kings' first victory in the ongoing tournament after they suffered eight consecutive losses most by any team in a single edition.

Qalandars could just make 127 for the loss of nine wickets in 20 overs. Muhammad Hafeez was top scorer with 33 runs. David Wiese scored 31 runs. Brilliant death bowling by young Zubair and Chris Jordon restricted the Lahore batters. Zubair took 4 wickets for 27 runs.

Earlier, after being invited to field first, the Qalandars bowled out Kings for 149 runs in 19.5 over, courtesy of four wickets each from star leggie Rashid Khan and young pacer Zaman Khan.

Karachi didn't get a good start to their innings as opener Joe Clarke was removed with 12 runs on the board. Twelve runs later Sharjeel Khan also followed him when Shaheen Shah got him lbw, while Babar Azam tried to hold the innings together.

Qasim Akram scored 26 runs in 18 balls, while Babar was once again removed by Rashid Khan for 39 runs on the first ball of the 11th over as he got him stumped to the outside the off-stump delivery.

Mohammad Nabi and Imad Wasim failed to play a huge knock getting out for eight runs each, while Lewis Gregory's 28 runs helped Kings reach a total which they can at least try to defend break their losing streak.

In terms of bowling, the young pacer Zaman Khan continued to show his skills as he picked four wickets for giving away 16 in 3.5 overs. Rashid Khan took four for 17 in four overs and was once again on-target with his line and length. Shaheen was also good with the new ball as he took one wicket.

                                                                        Sports Desk         

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.