Punjab assembly by polls- PTI wins 2, PML-N 1 seat

PTI wins PP-209 Khanewal and PP-241 Bahawalnagar while PML-N wins PP-139 Sheikhupura

The by poll on three Punjab Assembly seats takes place today. PTI wins  two seats while PML-N wins one seat. PTI candidate Faisal Niazi wins on PP-209 Khanewal with the margin of 14,000 votes against Ch Zia-ur-Rehman of PML-N. Faisal Niazi got 71,156 votes while Ch Zia ur Rehman bagged 57,873 votes.   Faisal Niazi was elected on PML-N ticket in 2018 general elections but changed his political loyalty and later resigned to join PTI. He retained his seat despite changing the political loyalty.
In PP-241 Bahawalnagar, PTI candidate Malik Muzaffar Hussain wins against Aman Ullah Sattar of PML-N. Malik Muzaffar bagged 59,956 votes while Aman Ullah got 48,243 votes. The margin of victory of PTI candidate is 11,700. Kashif Chaudhry of PML-N won this seat in 2018 elections but he was disqualified by ECP for holding fake degree. He won this seat by the margin of 5,000 votes against Malik Muzaffar Hussain of PTI. This time, Malik Muzaffar Hussain of PTI took revenge and wins the this seat.  
In PP-139 Sheikhupura, PML-N candidate Ch Iftikhar Bangu wins against Abu Bakar Sharaqpuri of PTI. Ch Iftikhar wins with the margin of nearly 3,000 votes. He bagged 40,851 votes while PTI candidate got 37,487 votes.  This seat was won by Jalil Sharaqpuri on PML-N ticket. But he changed his political loyalty and later joined the PTI. He didn't contest the by poll but fielded his cousin Abu Bakar. Iftikhar Bangu wins this seat after a long time. He won this seat in 1985 and 1988. But he failed to win this seat since then. 
   All the three seats were won by PML-N in 2018 general elections but it failed to defend two out three seats. It is a big political set back for PML-N. PML-N leadership didn't take this election seriously enough. Maryam Nawaz addressed couple of public rallies but no other prominent leader was involved in the campaigning. This result is wake up call for PML-N leadership.    

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.