CM Punjab Ch Parvez Elahi wins vote of confidence amid opposition's boycott

186 members of Punjab Assembly posed their confidence in Ch Parvez Elahi as CM Punjab 

Punjab Chief Minister Parvez Elahi yet again won the much-awaited vote of confidence in the Punjab Assembly on Wednesday night. 186 members of Punjab Assembly voted in favour of Ch Parvez Elahi.  The opposition boycotted the proceeding and alleged that rules of the assembly were violated in the vote of confidence.

Speaker Punjab Assembly Sibtain Khan announced the official result. Now speaker will send the result to the governor Punjab and also to the LHC. The 5 member bench of LHC is already hearing the petition of Ch Parvez Elahi against his removal as CM Punjab by Governor.  

The sudden decision of ruling coalition in Punjab to take vote of confidence surprised the opposition. The PTI/PML-Q coalition outmaneuvered the PML-N and PPP alliance. Ch Parvez Elahi couple of days ago announced to defy the governor’s order to take the vote of confidence. But he changed his mind after two and half hours long meeting with PTI chairman Imran Khan on Wednesday.

It will be interesting to see that when the CM Punjab dissolve the assembly as announced by PTI chairman Imran Khan. Imran Khan wants to dissolve the Punjab and KP assemblies to push for the early elections. Ch Parvez Elahi is seem reluctant to dissolve the assembly.  

The PML-N leadership was confident that Elahi will not be able to retain the majority as some PTI MPAs have already change political loyalty. The provincial chief executive took the confidence vote after the Lahore High Court (LHC) ruled that the governor had the authority to ask the chief minister to seek the trust of the house even during an ongoing session.

The issue is likely to end up in the Lahore High Court. The opposition is claiming that the figure of 186 is the result of rigging and fraud. The opposition wants to raise the issue before the LHC bench today.   

                                                                   Khalid Bhatti  

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.