Nawaz Sharif elected president of PML-N unopposed

 Former Prime Minister will lead the party after the gap of six years

Former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has made yet another comeback today. Nawaz Sharif has been elected "unopposed" as president of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).  He was removed as prime minister and party president in 2017 by Supreme Court of Pakistan. Nawaz Sharif becomes PML-N president after the gap of seven years. Man people thought it will be difficult for him to make a comeback like in the past. But he defied all odds to regain his party position.  

 According to the Chief Election Commissioner of PML-N Rana Sanaullah, no other PML-N leader submitted their nomination papers against the party supremo for the top post. Nawaz's papers were approved for the party election. PML-N elected Shahbaz Sharif as president who led the party for six years.

PML-N chooses May 28, the day celebrated as Youm-e-Takbir for the General Council meeting. On this day in 1998, Pakistan had responded to India’s nuclear tests while Nawaz was prime minister. Through a notification on Monday, Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif has declared May 28, 2024, a public holiday.

PML-N Chief Election Commissioner Rana Sanaullah stated that the party leaders had the consensus that Nawaz should lead the party. He said that Shehbaz had resigned from his position as party president, but he was still permitted by the Central Working Committee to carry out his responsibilities until the election of a new leader.

As per the party constitution, the election commission was appointed by the Central Working Committee and the commission issued the election timetable, said Sanaullah.

The timing for accepting nomination papers were from 10am to 12pm but no leader submitted their papers to contest the election against Nawaz Sharif.  The PML-N General council meeting is under way in its Central Secretariat Model Town Lahore.

The former president Shahbaz Sharif now will concentrate on the governance and economy as a prime minister.



No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.