Fact check-Imran Khan is not the first prime minister to seek 'voluntary' vote of confidence

 Nawaz Sharif was first Prime Minister who sought vote of confidence voluntarily in 1993

PTI ministers are making claims that Imran Khan is the first Prime Minister in the history of Pakistan who decided to seek voluntary vote of confidence from National Assembly. This claim is not true. PTI leaders have developed this habit almost on  every issue, PTI claims that nobody else ever done this before them. They made misleading claims without checking the facts.  This claim is not true. Infact, Imran Khan is the second Prime Minister in the history of Pakistan who is going to the National Assembly for a 'voluntary' vote of confidence.

Nawaz Sharif had sought a voluntary vote of confidence from the Parliament in 1993 when Supreme Court declared the dissolution of national assembly illegal and restored the Nawaz Sharif government.     Just to show the majority in the national assembly, Nawaz Sharif decided to sought voluntary vote of confidence.  

Muhammad Khan Junejo was the first prime minister in the parliamentary history of the country to receive a vote of confidence from the National Assembly, which he received on March 24, 1985, under General Zia-ul-Haq's Revival of Constitution of 1973 Order (RCO).

Under the RCO, the president appoints the prime minister at his discretion and the prime minister must obtain a vote of confidence from the National Assembly within 60 days of their appointment.

Under the Eighth Amendment to the Constitution, all prime ministers of Pakistan, from 1985 to 2008, received a vote of confidence from the National Assembly. These included the Shaheed Benazir Bhutto,  Nawaz Sharif, Mir Zafarullah Jamali, Chaudhry Shujaat, Shaukat Aziz, and Yousuf Raza Gilani.

In 2009, the 18th Amendment removed the provision for a vote of confidence from the Constitution.

In parliamentary history, Two prime ministers faced a no-confidence motion, however, both of them defeated it. On November 1, 1989, a no-confidence motion against Benazir Bhutto failed by 12 votes. Similarly, a  no-confidence motion against Shaukat Aziz in August 2006 also failed.

According to the Constitution, if the president feels that the prime minister has lost the confidence of the majority in the National Assembly, he convenes a meeting and asks the prime minister to take a vote of confidence.

                                                            Web Desk 


No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.