Pakistani Senate elected Sadiq Sanjrani as Chairman for the second term

PDM candidate Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani lost the senate chairman election

Sadiq Sanjrani, the candidate of ruling alliance in Senate has been elected Chairman Senate for the second term. He got 48 votes against 42 bagged by opposition candidate Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani. The seven votes of Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani got rejected for stamping the vote on the name of the candidate instead of the marked box.

Sanjrani took oath as the chairman Senate and now conducting the election for deputy chairman senate.

The PTI government's candidate for the Senate chairman election, Sadiq Sanjrani, has defeated Yousaf Raza Gillani of the Opposition coalition of the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM), marking a significant victory for the ruling party.

Earlier, the Senate session started at 10am with oath-taking ceremony of the newly-elected lawmakers, while the process of voting completed shortly before 5pm, after which the counting would begin.

The ruling alliance led by PTI and the Opposition-led PDM had locked horns for the Senate's chairman and deputy chairman posts, following jibes between the two sides, controversies, and secretly-made videos.

                                                      Special correspondent

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.