AJK elections 2021-the constituencies to watch tonight

Political  heavy weights belonging to PML-N, PPP, PTI and MC are contesting in these constituencies 

 LA-3 Mirpur

 PTI’s Sultan Mehmood Chaudhary vs PML-N’s Chaudhary Muhammad Saeed

In 2016 Saeed defeated Chaudhry from this constituency with just 3,000 votes. But later Saeed was declared ineligible by a court and by-elections had to be held. In the by-polls, Chaudhry won and was elected member of the legislative assembly.

On Sunday, the two arch-rivals — Saeed and Chaudhry — will face off again. PTI candidate Sultan Mehmood Ch has an edge. Sultan Mehmood is a strong candidate for the prime minister’s position

LA 7 Bhimber

PTI’s Chaudhary Anwar ul Haq vs PML-N’s Chaudhary Tariq Farooq

Former speaker, Anwar ul Haq, who recently joined PTI is up against senior minister Tariq Farooq, who has emerged successful from this constituency thrice. In 2016, Farooq trounced Haq with over 2,000 votes. At that time Haq was an independent candidate.

LA 10 Kotli

PPP’s Muhammad Yasin vs Muslim Conference’s Farooq Sikandar vs PTI’s Malik Muhammad Yousaf

 This is a city constituency, where former senior minister and leader of opposition Muhammad Yasin is contesting for the first time. He is also a candidate from his home constituency. His main rival is former prime minister and president Farooq Sikander Hayat’s son, Farooq Sikandar, who was elected as MNA from this constituency in 2016 on a PMLN ticket.

Meanwhile, Yousaf has previously contested on PMLN PPP tickets in the past and has now switched to PTI.

LA 14 Bagh

 Former prime minister and head of the Muslim Conference's Sardar Ateeq Ahmed Khan, vs PTI’s Major Lateef Khaleeq

Khaleeq was previously in the Jamaat-e-Islami. This constituency is considered a winning constituency for the Muslim Conference, as in 2016, Ahmed Khan won with over 30,000 votes while Khaleeq came in third.

LA 15 Bagh

PTI’s Tanveer Ilyas vs PML-N's Mushtaq Minhas vs Muslim Conference’s Raja Yaseen

 Ilyas is contesting for the first time, but he is backed by a powerful and notable group of the PTI. He is also being named as a possible candidate for prime minister of AJK. Another advantage to Ilyas has been the resignation of JI’s Abdul Rashid Turabi in favor of Ilyas.

Minhas is a former journalist and Yaseen was previously a senior minister in the assembly.

LA 21 Poonch and Sudhnuti

PPP’s Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob Khan vs Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Party’s Sardar Hassan Ibrahim

Hasan Ibrahim is the grandson of Sardar Ibrahim, the first president of AJK. In 2016, Khalid Ibrahim won this constituency. But after his death, by-elections were held where his son, Hassan Ibrahim, came out victorious. Ibrahim’s rival this time is Muhammad Yaqoob Khan, the former prime minister of AJK, who won this constituency in 2011 and 2006. Another contestant in the race is PTI’s Nayyar Ayub Khan.


LA 25 Neelum Valley

PMLN’s Shah Ghulam Qadir vs PTI Haji Gul Khandan

Shah Ghulam Qadir is the current speaker of the AJK legislative assembly. Qadir is also PML-N’s nominee for prime minister of AJK, if PML-N forms government. Gul Khandan, who left the Muslim Conference to join the PTI, came in second during the 2016 polls.

LA 32 Muzaffarabad

PML-N’s Sardar Farooq Haider vs PPP’s Sahibzada Muhammad Ashfaq Zafar

AJK’s Prime Minister Raja Farooq Haider has won this constituency in 2011 and 2016. But in 2006, he lost this constituency with only 800 votes to the father of Muhammad Ashfaq Zafar.

                                                             Khalid Bhatti 

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.