Nagar bypolls- PTI workers resort to protest after losing Nagar bypolls in Gilgit Baltistan

 Islami Tehreek Pakistan candidate Ayub Waziri  wins the by polls with narrow margin of 279 votes

According to unofficial results of all the 42 polling stations of GBLA-4 Nagar (i), Ayub Waziri of Islami Tehreek Pakistan wins the bypolls. He defeated PTI candidate with a narrow margin of 279 votes.  He secured 5,341 votes while PTI candidate Agha Beheshti got 5,062 votes and PPP candidate Javed Hussain bagged 4194 votes.

The ruling PTI was expecting to win this seat but Ayub Waziri of Islami Tehreek pulled out a surprise victory. It is disappointing defeat for PTI who formed the government in GB in November 2020.  

This seat was vacated by opposition leader in GB assembly and senior PPP leader Amjad Hussain advocate who won two seats in the 2020 B elections. But PPP failed to defend its seat and Islami Tehreek clinched it.  

After elections results appeared from polling stations, protesting PTI workers gathered outside the office of the returning officer in Sikandarabad. They chanted slogans in favour of their candidate and blocked Karakorum Highway by burning tyres on the road.

Police used tear gas and shelling to disperse the protesters. Clashes also erupted between the protesters and police in which a constable was injured.

                                                             Rukhsana Manzoor Deputy Editor    

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.