KP LG elections-Shocking defeat for PTI in 13 out of 17 districts

 JUI-F emerges as real winner after winning 20 Tehsil chairman elections while ANP made strong comeback after winning 08 Tehsils


The ruling PTI has suffered humiliating defeat in at least 13 out 17 districts of KP where local government elections were held in the first phase. JUI-F has emerged as the real winner as it won 20 Tehsil chairman elections in different districts.

PTI has lost significant vote bank compare to 2015 local government elections. PTI dominated the 2018 general elections and won most of the national and provincial assembly seats from KP.

JUI-F and ANP have increased their share of the votes in this election. Both failed to perform well in 2018 general elections. JUI-F is not only wining from the rural areas but also from

PTI has won in 15 Tehsils while independents have won 11 Tehsils so far. ANP has also made strong comeback in its traditional strongholds of Mardan, Peshawar, Charsada and Swabi.

PML-N has won 03, JI 02, TIP 02 and PPP one Tehsil so far. PML-N won from Haripur and Swabi districts while PPP won its only seat from Dera Ismail Khan.

Over all, Opposition parties have trounced PTI in many districts. JUI-F and ANP has made a strong comeback in Peshawar, Mardan, Kohat, Charsada, Swabi, DI Khan, and Hangu districts. PML-N dominated in Haripur - PTI dominated in Buner, Nowshera and Karak districts.  

It is a major political setback for PTI since 2013 when it came into power in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP).  

In Mardan, Awami National Party (ANP) candidate Himayat Ullah Mayar has won the election for Mardan mayor by bagging 56,458 votes. His close contender, JUI-F’s Amanat Shah Haqqani, received 49,938 votes. PTI candidate came third.

In Kohat, JUI-F candidate Qari Sher Zaman has won the Kohat Mayor elections after bagging more than 34,458 votes. Independent candidate Shafiullah Jaan came second with 25,793 votes. PTI candidate came third with more than 11,000 votes.    

JUI-F’s Zubair Ali has taken lead in Peshawar. As per the unofficial results of 473 out of total 521 polling stations, Zubair has bagged 60,761 votes while his close contender, PTI’s Muhammad Rizwan Bangash received 49,015 votes so far. ANP candidate Shair Rehman is at third place with 46,994 votes.

On the other hand, the PTI has managed to win 05 out of 06 Tehsils of Buner district. PTI also won most seats in Karak and Nowshera districts. The Tehreek-e-Islah Pakistan has won two Tehsils in District Khyber.

JUI-F has won 03, ANP 02 tehsils of Peshawar district while two seats won by PTI. In Mardan, All the Tehsils have been won by JUI-F and ANP candidates. PTI suffered humiliating defeat in Mardan as it failed to win a single Tehsil.

                                                                       Khalid Bhatti 

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.