Multan Sultans defeated Peshawar Zalmi for the 6th straight win

 Multan Sultans is the only team in the PSL-7 which is unbeaten so far

Multan Sultans wins sixth match in a row after defeating Peshawar Zalmi b 42 runs. Multan Sultans is the only unbeaten team in PSL-7 so far. It has won all the six matches it played so far. Mohammad Rizwan-led Sultans have beaten all the other teams — Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, Quetta Gladiators, Peshawar Zalmi, and Islamabad United  in the PSL 2022.

Chasing a 183-run target, the Zalmi never looked comfortable as both Kamran Akmal and Liam Livingstone were sent back to the pavilion in the first six overs. Sultans continued to strike on regular intervals as the Zalmi were clueless in crafting the run-chase. Soon afterwards, the Wahab Riaz-led team looked in sheer turmoil.

Experienced all-rounder Shoaib Malik played a good knock of 44 runs and remained the highest scorer for his team. Malik tried to bring Zalmi closer to the target by smashing some boundaries, but the task for him was humongous against a brilliant Sultans attack that restricted the Zalmi to 140 at the loss of 10 wickets.

In terms of bowling, Khushdil Shah and Blessing Muzarabani were once again the stand-out bowlers for their team as they took three wickets each, while Shahnawaz Dahani dismissed two batters. Abbas Afridi and Imran Tahir picked one wicket each.

Sultans posted the total courtesy of Shan Masood’s terrific 68 runs and Tim David's sensational 34 runs off 18 balls. Their openers Shan Masood and Mohammad Rizwan provided them with a 98-run opening stand.

Rizwan scored 34 runs, as he didn't look in the flow today, but Masood continued his rich form by playing a 68-run inning of 49 balls with the help of eight fours and one six which provided a solid foundation for other batters to launch an onslaught against the Zalmi bowlers in the late overs.

For Zalmi, experienced all-rounder Shoaib Malik was economical as he conceded only nine runs in two overs.

Salman Irshad, Wahab Riaz and Saqib Mahmood took two wickets each, but they were also smashed badly.

                                                                         Sports Desk

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.