Hardline Hindu nationalist BJP wins 4 states including UP- AAP wins Punjab in assembly elections 2022

Modi led BJP wins assembly elections in UP, Manipur, Uttarakhand and Goa states while Punjab went to Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)- Congress routed in UP and Punjab  

The Prime Minister Modi led hardline Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won 4 out of 5 state assembly elections. This election result has cemented the position of BJP as the dominant political force in India.

BJP has succeeded to retain power in Uttar Pradesh (UP), Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa. The Congress failed to retained power in Punjab as Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has swept the elections in the state. The AAP has won 92 out of 117 assembly seats in Punjab.

 In UP, the combination of PM Modi and chief minister Yogi Adityanath has worked wonders, with BJP looking set to win over 250 seats in the 403-member assembly. BJP won 32 out of 60 seats in Manipur. In Uttarakhand, BJP won 47 out of 70 seats. BJP won 20 out of 40 seats in Goa. But BJP failed to make inroads into Punjab where AAP trounced all the other parties.

The jubilant Modi has said after the BJP victory that “I would also say today that after the 2019 election results, some political experts had said that the 2017 results decided the 2019 results. I believe this time also he will say that the results of 2022 have decided the results of 2024.”

It was another disappointing day for Grand Old Party – Congress- which suffered heaviest defeat of its history in UP. UP was used to be the strong hold of congress but in this election it could only manage to win two seats.

Congress was also routed in Punjab as it could win only 18 seats. Congress leadership seems clueless to overcome this political and organisational crisis it facing since the rise of Modi and BJP. The BJP continue to take advantage of weak Congress and viable alternate on the national level.  

                                                                           Khalid Bhatti

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.