No-confidence motion against PM Imran Khan tabled in National Assembly

National Assembly will debate the motion of no-confidence on March 31 

PML-N President  and opposition leader in National Assembly Shehbaz Sharif Monday tabled the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan. 161 members of the national assembly voted in favour of tabling the motion. The National Assembly session, chaired by Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri, started around 05:00pm with the recitation of the Holy Quran. The Deputy speaker then adjourn the session till March 31. The National Assembly will start the debate on no-confidence motion against PM Imran Khan. 

The lawmakers of the government’s coalition partners and dissident PTI MNAs are not present in the assembly. The lower house of the Parliament then voted in favour of voting on the no-trust motion

"This House is of the view that the Prime Minister of Pakistan, Mr Imran Khan, has lost the confidence of the majority of the members of the National Assembly of Pakistan, therefore, he should cease to hold office," the resolution bearing signatures of 152 opposition members said.

Rule 37(4) of Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the National Assembly says the leave to move the resolution shall be asked for after Question-Hour, if any, and before any other business entered in the order of the day.

Rule 37(5) says that the speaker may, after considering the state of business, shall allow a day or two for discussion on the motion. As per Article 95 of the Constitution and Assembly’s rules, a resolution of no-confidence against the Prime Minister shall not be voted before the expiry of three days and not later than seven days from the day, it was moved.

                                                                              Web Desk

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.