UN General Assembly passed resolution against Russia for invading Ukraine

141 countries voted for resolution, 35 countries abstained while 5 countries opposed the resolution 

 The 193-member United Nations General Assembly on Wednesday voted on the resolution titled "aggression against Ukraine" after hearing 120 speeches. Pakistan, Bangladesh, India and China refrained from voting at the UNGA resolution that strongly deplores the Russian invasion of Ukraine and seeks an end to it.

35 countries including Pakistan, China and India abstained from voting against Russia at the UNGA. Of the total votes, 141 were in favour of the resolution, 5 against, 35 abstentions. Russia, North Korea, Belorussia, Syria and Eritrea voted against the resolution.  

United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) in its resolution strongly reprimanded Russia for invading Ukraine and demanded that there should be an immediate withdrawal of all Russian forces.

The resolution “deplores in the strongest terms the aggression by the Russian Federation against Ukraine in violation of Article 2 (4) of the Charter”. It also demands that the “Russian Federation immediately cease its use of force against Ukraine and to refrain from any further unlawful threat or use of force against any Member State”.

The General Assembly on Wednesday voted to reaffirm its commitment to the sovereignty, independence, unity and territorial integrity of Ukraine within its internationally recognised borders and "deplores in the strongest terms” Russia’s aggression against Ukraine.

Nearly 100 UN Member States co-sponsored the resolution titled ‘Aggression Against Ukraine’, including Afghanistan, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Kuwait, Singapore, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The UNSC resolution, which received 11 votes in favour and three abstentions, was blocked after permanent member Russia exercised its veto. Following the failure of the Council to adopt the resolution, the Security Council voted on Sunday again to convene a rare "emergency special session” of the 193-member General Assembly on the crisis.

President of the 76th session of the General Assembly Abdulla Shahid presided over the unprecedented session, only the 11th such emergency session of the General Assembly since 1950.

With the adoption of the UNSC resolution Sunday, it was for the first time in 40 years that the Council decided to call for an emergency special session in the General Assembly.

The resolution also demanded that Russia "immediately, completely, and unconditionally" withdraw all of its military forces from the territory of Ukraine within its internationally recognized borders.

 While General Assembly resolutions are non-binding, they carry political weight.

                                                                      Web Desk

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.