Election Commission announced schedule of first phase of local government elections in 14 districts of sindh on June 26

The local government elections will be held in the first phase in Sukkur and Larkana, Mir Pur Khas and Shaheed Benazir Abad Divisions of Sindh province 

The Election commission of Pakistan has announced the schedule for the first phase of local government elections in 14 districts of Sindh on June 26, 2022.The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has released the election schedule for the first phase of local government (LG) elections in Sindh.

The first phase covers a total of 14 districts of Sukkur, Larkana, Shaheed Benazir Abad and Mirpurkhas divisions including districts of Sukkur, Larkana, Ghotki, Shikarpur, Shadadkot and Tharparkar.   

The following is the timeline for the entire exercise:

  • April 28: Public notice inviting nomination papers to be issued to returning officers (RO)
  • May 10-13: Filing of nomination papers with ROs by candidates
  • May 14: Publication of names of nominated candidates
  • May 16-18: Scrutiny of nomination papers by ROs
  • May 19-21: Filing of appeals against the decision of ROs
  • May 23-25: Deciding of appeals by the appellate authority
  • May 26: Publication of revised list of candidates
  • May 27: Last date for withdrawal and publication of revised candidate list
  • May 28: Allotment of symbols to contesting candidates
  • June 26: Polling day
  • June 30: Consolidation of results

In further guidelines to ensure the elections are held fairly and honestly and to ensure that corrupt practices are prevented, the ECP barred executive authorities from announcing development projects or using state resources to influence polls in favour of a candidate. The ECP has warned that any government official who misused their position to influence the elections would be proceeded against under the law.

The ECP also barred transfers and postings of government officers or granting them leaves in divisions for which the election schedule had been issued without the commission's prior approval. 

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.