NA-240 Karachi bypolls, MQM-P likely to retain its seat won in 2018

PTI and JI are not contesting the by-elections while PML-N withdraw its candidate in favour of  PPP and JUI-F is supporting MQM-P

Polling is underway in NA-240 Karachi by-elections. The turnout might be low as people shown little interest in the campaigning in the constituency. PTI's absence from the race might also keep many voters away from the polling stations. There is lack of real enthusiasm among the voters. 
The real contest seems to be between MQM-P, PPP and TLP candidates. PSP is also in the run. MQM-P has an edge over its rivals in this constituency.  PTI and Ji are not in the run as both decided to boycott the bypolls. PTI candidate came third in 2018 general elections. MQM-P is likely to retain its seat won by senior MQM-P leader Iqbal Muhammad Khan in 2018 general elections with a big margin of nearly 30,000 votes. Iqbal Muhammad Khan was died after illness in April 2022. 
MQM-P has fielded Muhammad Abubakar in the by polls. MQM-P won this constituency in last three elections 2008,2013 and 2018. Another MQM faction known as  MQM-H led by Afaq Ahmad won this seat in 2002 elections. MQM-P has large vote bank in this constituency. MQM seems in better position to retain its seat. 

The Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) has fielded Shahzada Shahbaz, alias Shahzada Kashif, for the by-poll. The MQM-Haqiqi has fielded Rafiuddin Faisal and Pakistan Peoples Party has fielded Nasir Lodhi. The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz has announced support for the PPP candidate. Pak Sarzameen Party has fielded Shabbir Qaimkhani in the constituency

The MQM-P’s Khan had won the NA-240 seat in the 2018 general elections by securing 61,165 votes, defeating the Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan’s (TLP) Muhammad Asif, who had bagged 30,535 votes, and the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Farrukh Manzoor, who had received 29,939 votes.

The Jamaat-e-Islami’s Abdul Jamil Khan, who had contested the polls under the banner of the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal, had secured over 19,000 votes, while Mohajir Qaumi Movement-Haqiqi (MQM-H) chief Afaq Ahmed had bagged over 14,000 votes, and the Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Mohammad Feroze had received over 7,000 votes. The Pak Sarzameen Party had secured 6,661 votes.

The constituency comprises 529,855 voters, including 294,385 male and 235,470 female voters. Of the 309 polling stations, 203 polling stations have been declared ‘highly sensitive’ in the constituency by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), while the remaining 106 polling stations have been declared ‘sensitive’. 

 NA-240 (Korangi Karachi II) comprises the areas which were previously part of the former NA-255 and various areas of NA-254 as the new constituency had been cratered after the fresh delimitation of constituencies on the basis of provisional results of the 2017 population census by amalgamating both former constituencies of National Assembly.

It is a constituency dominated by Urdu speakers, but people from other linguistic groups also live here. Additionally, the PPP and religious parties have a considerable presence in the constituency.


No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.