New Zealand won first ever ODI series in Pakistan

 Glenn Phillips helped New Zealand to win the third ODI and the series against Pakistan  

Glenn Phillips helped New Zealand to win its first ever ODI series in Pakistan. Phillips  smashed an unbeaten half-century as New Zealand secured a series victory over Pakistan with a two-wicket win in the third and final one-day international (ODI) in Karachi on Friday. Phillips scored 63 off 42 balls, hitting four sixes and as many fours, to rescue New Zealand from a precarious 181-5 in their pursuit of a 281-run target.

It is the first time the Black Caps have won the ODI series in the sub-continent since 2008, and it is also their first ODI series on Pakistani soil. New Zealand toured Pakistan after 20 years. They lost the first match by six wickets, won the second match by 79 runs and won the series decider by 2 wickets. 

It is the first time the Men in Green have lost an ODI series after winning three straight series in one and a half years. It is also the first time Pakistan has lost an ODI series on home soil since January 2009, when they were defeated 2-1 by Sri Lanka in a three-match series.

Since 2010-11, Pakistan has never won the ODI series against Kiwis as they last ended in a draw in 2018-19, losing five ODI series in the last 12 years.

In the series-deciding game, the home side posted a handsome total of 280 runs with help of a fantastic century from the opening batter, Fakhar Zaman. In response, the visiting side chased down the total in the 48.1 overs thanks to Williamson, Conway, and Phillips as they scored magnificent fifties. Earlier, the two teams played out a 0-0 draw in a two-match Test series.

                                                                      Khalid Bhatti 

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.