Gilgit-Baltistan legislative assembly elections in would be held on August 18

Interim government takes over to hold elections 

Gilgit-Baltistan (GB) legislative assembly elections would be held on August 18, 2020. President Arif Alvi has approved the election schedule in which “August 18 fixed as Polling Day. The GBLA was dissolved on June 24 after completion of its statutory term of five years and according to the rules, next general elections for the assembly should be held within 60 days from the said date. PML-N government completed its tenure on June 24 and replaced by an interim set up under CM Mir Afzal.  
Last month, a presidential order was promulgated to form a caretaker government and for extension of the Elections Act 2017 to Gilgit-Baltistan. According to a notification issued by the Ministry of Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit Baltistan, “Gilgit-Baltistan Election and Caretaker Amendment Order, 2020”, was issued to ensure holding of transparent elections in the region.
The presidential order said it was necessary to provide for adaption of laws to install a caretaker government in GB for conducting a fair and transparent election. It is expedient to amend the Government of Gilgit-Baltistan Order 2018 SRO number 704 (1), 2018.
The presidential order inserted a new Article, “48-A”, under which all rules and regulations as are enforced in Pakistan would be adopted in the territory of Gilgit-Baltistan.
The Gilgit Baltistan Election Commission will hold the elections in 24 constituencies.
PPP form the first provincial government in GB after it was given the status of province during PPP government in 2009 by introducing the Gilgit Baltistan Empowerment and Self Governance Order 2009, which gave Gilgit Baltistan a province like status. The area was renamed as Gilgit Baltistan.
PML-N emerged as the largest party in GB in 2015 elections and formed the government. This time a three way close contest is expected between PPP, PML-N and PTI.
                                                                     Naila Chaudhry   

No comments

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Powered by Blogger.